“Science makes one an atheist.” A reply.


Sure, some would argue this point to which the likes of Richard Dawkins and William Provine would apply. Many atheists claim that science has left no room for belief in God. Dawkins, for instance, puts particular emphasis on evolution as being the knockout blow. However, the Christian might argue that Dawkins is mistaken as if he grants the truth of evolution it does not follow that God was not involved. Given a Christian conception of God he would have most likely been involved within the process (initiating it or guiding it).

Either way science cannot rule out God or prove his existence, so in essence Dawkins goes beyond the realm of science and into philosophy. Christians also believe in a God who transcends his creation and is responsible for its workings and wonders in the first place. Given that science cannot explain him away as Dawkins would suggest. Christian geneticist and evolutionary biologist Francis Collins explains:

“If humans evolved strictly by mutation and natural selection, who needs God to explain us? To this, I reply: I do. The comparison of chimp and human sequences, interesting as it is, does not tell us what it means to be human. In my views, DNA sequence alone, even if accompanied by a vast trove of data on biological function, will never explain certain special human attributes, such as the knowledge of the Moral Law and the universal search for God. Freeing God from the burden of special acts of creation does not remove Him as the source of the things that make humanity special, and of the universe itself. It merely shows us something of how He operates” (1).

And in her research paper Dr. Elaine Ecklund discovered that “for the majority of scientists I interviewed, it is not the engagement with science itself that leads them away from religion. Rather their reasons for unbelief mirror the circumstances in which other Americans find themselves: they were not raised in a religious home; they have had bad experience with religion; they disapprove of God or see God as too changeable” (2).

Ecklund argues that it is not someone’s commitment to science that makes him an atheist but rather a host of other personal factors. The Christian may further point out that many scientists and intellectuals have claimed that science has enhanced their faith in God.

Darrel Falk, a professor of biology, suggests that nature evidences “God’s masterful plan.” He beleives that “All species came about through a gradual process that included natural selection, genetic drift and sexual selection. Christians should see all of this as the product of God’s masterful plan and ongoing activity” (3).

Atheism is not the default position of thinking intellectuals within science and other sophisticated fields of expertise. This was succinctly put by the philosopher of science John Lennox when he noted that “Atheism is not the automatic default position for all thinking people who hold science in high regard” (4).


1. Collins, F. 2008. The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief.

2. Ecklund, E. Science Vs. Religion: What Scientists Really Think. p. 17.

3. Falk, D. 2011. NPR’S Adam and Eve Story. Available.

4. Lennox, J. 2011. Gunning For God. p. 15.

9 responses to ““Science makes one an atheist.” A reply.

    • Religionerased, you’re here too? Have you ever asked God those questions? Deuteronomy 29:29 “The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law.” There are some things God won’t tell us because we don’t need to know, however there is a lot He will say, you just gotta seek Him and ask.

      • I have asked and he doesn’t answer, just because Deuteronomy says that doesn’t mean it’s true!
        ‘You have got to seek him’ is a phrase that is really starting bug me now.

        • You seem angry here, and on your own post (Boring!). Calm down bro, no one is attacking you or what you believe. I simply said you if want answers, ask the author of it all. You know I don’t agree with those who put the burden of seeking on the unbeliever, I even commented on your own site saying I agree with you about that. However, as you are seeking religion and answers, I suggested to seek the one who made it all. To those who want nothing to do with religion (to either prove nor disprove it), the burden of seeking isn’t on them. I should have been more clear in my words in the above comment as there is more to it than that, but I’ll get to that further down.

          Firstly, if the phrase is beginning to bug you and you are against it, why are you seeking Him and religion (and religious blogs)? “It’s bad enough being told to convert, but then to be told to go out of our way and find God ourselves? Crazy.” If you’re going to hold to this, go all the way with it. I understand the motive is to disprove religion, but it’s still seeking it out. I mean, this blog is nothing but religion. Again, I’m not attacking, just pointing something out here.

          Now on to why hasn’t He told you. This is where I should have been more clear. God won’t answer the questions of an unrepentant heart. Why? Atheists ask for evidence so they can believe in the truth to fulfill their desire to be right, even if it’s against their favor. You said this yourself as you’d be disappointed if God was real, yet you’d believe as that’s what you pride yourself on. God won’t come down and say “Here I am!” because there is no repentance and surrender. When you realize you’re broken, a sinner in need of a savior, and willing to take the path away from sin, lust, greed, pride, hate, and destruction, He will come for you. It’s at that place where you say, “God, I need you to save me from what I’ve become, show me you’re there.” He won’t answer a prayer to affirm one’s own self-fulfillment of being right, because He knows they won’t lay down their sinful desires to serve Him and follow His will. It’d be pointless and would only hurt the person more. Would you give your will to God if He revealed Himself to you? Would you live for Him past simply believing He exists? If not, evidence or answers are not going to be revealed to you. Christianity is a life of sacrifice, nothing less, and for those honestly seeking Him and willing to follow, He will reveal Himself. However, as long as pride and self-fulfillment fuels the desire to seek for evidence and truth, the blind will always be unable to see the light in front of them. That’s all I’ve got to say. Does this apply to you? I don’t know, but I would suggest you think on these things.

          • Apologies if I seem angry🙂 and thank you for your in depth comment.
            You state that you don’t believe the burden should be on the unbeliever, which is great, however the latter half of your comment says that I need to put the effort in with God for him to reveal himself. By surrendering or admitting I live a life of sin, I am assuming a God exists. And with this, the burden of proof is now with the unbeliever.
            I am sorry, but I am not going to confess to being broken or a sinner because I am not one. I have more pride than that, and that isn’t a bad thing.
            Do you really want to please a God that gets his kicks by making people beg for his love? Ironically we are greedy, selfish, egotistical and proud, yet to be saved we need to surrender to a God that shows the exact same characteristics.

            • No problem, we all get angry. I have myself on many occasions, not that it’s something to be proud of🙂 I was going to leave with my last comment, but it fills me with anguish when I see the world with a misconception of God, so if I may say this one last thing. It may be long…..
              So is God a god who commands us to worship Him and love Him? This comes with a religious view of Christianity (Christianity is of course a religion, but not in the organized sense of the word). Christianity is a relationship. Something my mother said was, “Worship is love responding to love.” And so Christ first loved and pursued us, worship is a natural response in the same way buying flowers for your spouse is a result of loving her.
              With all respect, to say you’re not a sinner is to say you’re perfect in every way. Sin is not just murdering, stealing, etc, but everything we do that is not righteous or good: lying, hating, lusting, and all the above factors I listed before like greed. These may not seem like big things, but Christ looks at the heart of man, and He said, “He who looks at a man with hate, has already committed murder in His heart.” This song by Anberlin has really shown me who we are in Christ’s eyes (don’t worry, it’s not a mushy gushy Christian song haha): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYMjRCDcFPA
              As said before, the burden to seek isn’t on the unbeliever, as God seeks and pursues us, however it’s up to us to take His hand. Does this mean we must assume God’s real? I can’t say it does, we simply have to want Him, and He will reveal Himself because. Wanting something is not the same as believing something is real, as I want to fly, but it doesn’t mean I can.
              I think the above song can also bring a new perspective of God’s character. God is anything but selfish as seen with Jesus. “You give me your life, and I’ll give you mine,” said Jesus. He took the life of a lost cause and gave me everything He had. On greed, Jesus desires an intimate relationship with us, and to give us everything He has, as a man would to his wife. On God being egotistical, Jesus lowered Himself to our level and became a servant to us. I know my egotistical self doesn’t want to serve those below me🙂 God warns us of being egotistical as it leads us to destruction and loneliness. This song by Needtobreathe examples this further :https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHaq4GJfjlM. On being proud, God certainly is proud. He’s proud of His creation and His works. He’s proud of us, however I must add, He isn’t pleased with what we’re doing.

              While I have you, I’d like to go off track and ask a question no Atheist has answered for me yet (they always ignore me when it comes to this question). On your post “What do you feel in a church?” you observed this couple living in a sanctuary, in peace. You say science is more important, but the question I have, what about death? Is it important then? Atheists believe there’s nothing after death, so wouldn’t it be better to live in that peace then to live without it? I watched a video of this Atheist’s opinion on death and one comment said, “Well, this hasn’t helped my depression.” A lyric by Anberlin that has stuck with me is, “I’d rather be a hopeless lover than to be cursed with disbelief.” I don’t know man, but if truth and science leads to nothing but, well, nothing anyway, I think I’d rather live in the fantasy and leave a legacy by living the life of Jesus has commanded me to live. A life of loving others more than myself.
              Thanks for listening bro. Blessings🙂

              • Worship is not ‘love responding to love’, it is love responding to a lust for attention, surely. And to go from saying if I’m not a sinner I am stating I am perfect in every way is a huge jump. I don’t think I am perfect, far from it. But it doesn’t mean I am therefore immoral.
                In the latter half of your comment the question as to why I live a good life if we die… Is that what you meant? I have a big desire for the truth, I cannot live this short life we have in a fantasy. An equally good quote I heard was ‘I would rather be hurt by the truth than satisfied by a lie’. Although I feel this isn’t everyone and I do feel this is a huge factor in many peoples belief.

    • Thanks again for taking the time to comment🙂 This will be my final comment as I will contain an urgent warning.
      You believe worship is love responding to a lust for attention, but that isn’t what worship means. It’s simply an act of honor. We could only desire to worship because He loved us first. These lyrics describe worship perfectly, “You fill my soul till I overflow and pour it all back out to You, so I’ll sing with You.”
      Now, you can choose to reject what I’m about to say and call me liar, you are free to of course, but this is my warning for the comment on not being immoral: We’ll all stand before the judgement seat of Christ and give an account for the things we’ve done and said. I know you don’t believe in sin, but think of that act you’re ashamed of. Are you prepared to answer for it? To face the King, the righteous judge of truth and justice? Can you stand before Him confidently? What will you offer Him? Another argument, good deeds? We all feel shame, and we all cover it with a false sense of “I know best.” As I said, if we’re sinless and self-sufficient, we should be able reach perfection. However, we can’t, we need the blood of an innocent one to free us from our slavery. This world is burning away, breaking at the seams. Our sin is killing us every day, and we’re sitting down pointing our fingers to the sky as if we, the ones who murder, covet, lust, fornicate, curse and hurt with our words, who pervert love and love perverse things, have grounds to judge God on what is right and moral. Our deepest desires are moved by sin, and even our good deeds are tainted by selfish and petty thoughts. God is not pleased with us, yet because of His immense mercy, He’s made a way to salvation. A way to escape the coming wrath. Jesus took our punishment upon Himself to cover for our sins. “I will trade you. You give me your soiled, filthy, stench-ridden rags, & I’ll wear them. & I’ll give you my sinlessness, my holiness, my righteousness, & you can wear that. I will gladly trade you, your life for Mine,” says Jesus. You are the beloved. You are loved beyond measure.

      My friend, I believe the Gospel to be the truth. We’ve rejected God, have called Him our enemy and have fought against Him, but has it done us any good? Look at us. Have we accomplished anything by saying God doesn’t exist? One Atheist, Hemant Mehta, said, “If God didn’t exist, the world would probably look exactly the same as it does now.” He’s right, we’re causing earth’s destruction, however mercy is waiting. Come on friend, there is light. There is life. Come while there’s still a chance.
      Blessings to you my friend🙂

Let me know your thoughts!

